top of page
Search
  • ndelesinom1976

Crisis GM soundfont (sf2): A Showcase of Some Amazing Songs Made with It



I have seen CoolSoft VirtualMIDISynth a while ago (I wonder if it was a year ago or more) and i felt kinda nostalgic about all the MIDI... but I also realised that all the GM soundfonts just doesn't seem to fit my ear. I decided to create my own GM .SF2. Something made out of precisely picked out samples out of every single SF2 file that I will stumble upon. I've made some research on how to make one, found out a program to do it [Viena by Synthfont, many thanks for that]... and spent quite some time on it.


What does it comprise? The list is really, really long.Out of the GM soundfonts used during creation were "Merlin Gold" (Merlin Pixel Arts), "Titanic 200 GM GS" (Congrats Luke Sena!), "Personal Copy" (Jim Roe), but also many more for reference like "Masterpiece" (found on -gieg.com/rkhive/banks.html), DrummGS, Joe's Best GM, Hubbe64... even good old Gravis Ultrasound was listened to! I am also very greatful for Keppy, creator of the best piano soundfont for the insight on how SF2 piano can sound.




crisis GM soundfont (sf2)



PIANO:Yamaha 9ft Grand, Grand Piano Y-LP1, Clavinova P6 and Yamaha C5 used alltogether and tuned for the best performance as well as some piano instruments of unidentified origin (sorry for all the people that worked hard on all those samples, i simply lost track. The misc piano instruments came out of E-MU Proteus 2000 samples package with minor/major tweaks. There is also Clavinova Grand from one of the famous soundfonts.


WINDS:UoI Trumpet NV4 + Roland trumpet, Trombone from Crisis, Custom(ly) made Trumpet Muted, French Horns from soundfont package that I happened to find on my HDD, Tweaked "Flute (TB)", Ethan's Bassoon, CLARINET, Piccolo CK....


Thank you for the huge work!It's a pity that you can't credit all the samples because such a soundfont will never make it into MuseScore. We need to make sure that all samples come from suitable licensed soundfont. It would have been pretty cool if we could see which one are ok and which other are definitely not and would make us (and you, since you distribute it) legally liable (even if it's unlikely anyone complain...)Also, sorry to go into legal again, it would be great if you could attach a license to the soundfont for the parts that you did yourself (the compilation, the instruments based on public domain samples etc...). It would ease the reuse and remix of the soundfont in the future. If you don't care about what people do with this soundfont, I would suggest putting somewhere that this soundfont (or at least the parts you own) is licensed under CC0


Even if it wasn't, it wouldn't be a problem to distribute it with MuseScore if we had permission. The soundfont is used by MuseScore but not linked. If a soundfont is distributed with MuseScore, its license doesn't need to be compatible with GNU GPLv2. However to enable the distribution of the soundfont itself, for example in Debian, CC0 works.That being said, I'm not a lawyer, you can get help to choose a license on for example.


I would use kontakt and separate fonts instead of GM bundles for higher quality. I try avoiding plastic sounds with there digital taste. Now you can get close to realistic sounding with the right soundfonts.


If you really want a test for a soundfont, then use something with stand orchestration at some parts. A combined analysis using both Holst's the planets and Greig's Peer Gynt suite should reveal quite a bit of any existing flaws. Also Ravel's Bolero is good because it has a lot of solos of winds that normally aren't heard too often.


Hi. I know your most likely not active, but can you give me a download link to the sound font you used for the French horn?The French horn you used has the same sample as used in this video game song =9n8su-ptBGoI'm assuming that the rest of the soundfont will be the same samples as used in the song.


dont worry if you cant download this soundfont, it is outdated, just made for the size. in 2006 1 Gb was amazing, it took me three hours to download it then and only the woodwinds were reasonable quality. these days you can find much better on the wwweb. i dont understand why Polyphone is still wasteing bandwidth on this sf2


I have an old blog post where I listed the General MIDI soundfonts I have. Someone requested that I share the soundfonts, so I uploaded my soundfont folder to Google Drive. While this is nowhere near the size of the ZSF Distribution, there may be a few soundfonts here that are hard to download elsewhere, like Shadow 1.0.


For the sake of convenience, most of the soundfonts are in the root folder. The subfolders generally contain text files or demo tracks that came with the soundfonts. However, the subfolders that DO contain banks NOT in the root folder are listed below.


Creative GM SoundfontsDOOM SNES Soundfont (not General MIDI)DOOM-Wolfenstein 3D Atari Jaguar Soundfont (not General MIDI)eapci2m4m8mECW (has an incomplete ecw to sf2 conversion)finegm (AWE sbk bank)GBFont (Game Boy samples - not General MIDI)Giant Soundfont (this soundfont is split up into separate banks)gus_sbk (AWE sbk bank)oldsoundfonts (Gravis, GXSCC, and OPL3 soundfonts)OPL4 (xi instruments)Patch93s Roland SC-55 Soundfont V1.9Patch93s Roland Sound Canvas V2.0 soundfontPatch93s Roland Sound Canvas V2.1 soundfontPatch93s Roland Sound Canvas V2.2 soundfontSNES (Setzer's SPC soundfont)VSC (Virtual Sound Canvas banks)


Thanks for the collection... It seems that Jazman website disappeared from at least 8 months... No trace of Jazman website soundfonts.. Has anybody backup of those files? Like Jazman Black TYros or Jazman SF88 GM/GS to share?


I've been looking for the overall best GM soundfonts for DOOM music. I have over 20, and so far my favorites are Weeds GM 3.0, Silverspring 1.5, and SONiVOX 24meg. I'm pretty happy with the sound of those, but I'm going to download some more (mainly giant ones); Fluid, Shan, Airfont, and the gigantic Crisis GM. I'll give my opinions on them when I download them. Are they worth the download? Any suggestions for the best MIDI soundfonts for DOOM?


The Weeds one was made specifically for the Doom soundtrack(s) so it's going to be hard to beat.I haven't tried Crisis because it's just too big.General User's isn't too bad, though it's not the one I use.Looking in my soundfont folder, I have also got RealFont_2_1.sf2, mustheory2.sf2, and Unison.sf2. I don't think I have tried them yet. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page